Please find the NHTSA and SAE defined levels of autonomy.

Level 0 - No automation

The human driver is fully in control of the vehicle.

Level 1 - Driver Assistance Systems

Features like automatic braking, stability control and cruise control are available under the guidance of a human driver. Level 1 means the car can only work one automated system at a time

Level 2 - Partial Automation

Level 2 means that multiple automated functionalities can work together.

Level 3 - Autonomous Under Certain Circumstances

The vehicle can take over all driving functions under certain circumstances. The less-complex highway environment (all vehicles moving in the same direction, no pedestrians, no complex intersections) is the most logical circumstance.

All major functions are automated, including braking, steering, and acceleration. At this level, the driver can fully disengage until the vehicle tells you otherwise. This is where the vehicle crosses into true “autonomous capability,” and when technology begins to enable substantial benefits beyond safety, such as increased productivity.

Levels 4 – High Automation

Level 4 and Level 5 vehicles are autonomous in all situations and driving environments, not just “under certain circumstances,” as in Level 3.

In Level 4 there does not have to be a driver because the vehicle is prepared for every situation and the human has moved from being the driver to just a passenger.

Level 5 - Full Automation

In Level 5 vehicles will not have a steering wheel or other human-used vehicle controls.

Want to stay up to date on the future posts? Sign up for the newsletter, Clocking In!